Chinese Food Stories

Dea showed me how to look at our blog stats, and now I’m fascinated. I might check them every day. Every HOUR! I discovered that some of you come to us through some fascinating search terms. My favorite this round was “chinese food stories” because I want to read stories about Chinese food, too. So I decided to do a tag mash.

Sadly, LibraryThing did not have a tag mash for for “chinese food, stories” and so I tried “chinese food, fiction.”

There was a paltry two results:

The Last Chinese Chef by Nicole Mones
A Free Life by Ha Jin

LibraryThing suggested I try the related tag mash “chinese, foodie” which gave me only three more results:

The Taste of China by Ken Hom
China Moon Cookbook by Barbara Tropp
The Frugal Gourmet Cooks Three Ancient Cuisines: China, Greece and Rome by Jeff Smith

So I went for a more interesting related tag mash of “chinese, chick lit”:

The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan
The Dim Sum of All Things by Kim Wong Keltner
Kitchen God’s Wife by Amy Tan
Snow Flower and the Secret Fan: A Novel by Lisa See
Marrying Buddha by Wei Hui
Buddha Baby by Kim Wong Keltner
The Bonesetter’s Daughter by Amy Tan
The People’s Republic of Desire: A Novel by Annie Wang
Aching for Beauty : Footbinding in China by Wang Ping
The Good Women of China: Hidden Voices by Xinran
Shanghai Baby by Wei Hui
Women of the Silk: A Novel by Gail Tsukiyama
Chinese Cinderella: The True Story of an Unwanted Daughter by Adeline Yen Mah
Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden
The Hundred Secret Senses by Amy Tan
Spring Moon: A Novel of China by Bette Bao Lord

A book about footbinding, a story of an unwanted daughter, everything ever written by Amy Tan, and Memoirs of Geisha? I think this tag mash qualifies as chicklit FAIL.  Although some of the titles like Buddha Baby look promising.  Still I feel strangely depressed now. Failed tag mashes make Andrea cry. I think I need to write a scathing review of another book that disappointed my hopes. Because that’s cheery!

-Andrea

Leave a Reply

