Craptastic! Books that Suck

There are tons of book reviews out there on good books, books you should read; but what about those books you should avoid at all costs? It’s time I did the public a service and listed a few books that you should turn and run from.

This was actually a really difficult list to create, as I had to separate my personal feelings from books and concentrate on bad writing, poor character development, and weak plotting, or in some cases, no plotting at all. I could write an entire blog post about books I hate (maybe even two or three), but that’s for another day- maybe sometime this winter when I’m cold and cranky. But in the meantime, here are some books that have guaranteed problems:

Necking, by Chris Salvatore: this is actually the book that started me on this tear of a post- there was hardly any plot to speak of, almost no character development, and conversation that was supposed to be witty repartee, but really only consisted of words like “wiseass” and “beyotch”. The best thing it has going for it is the title.

Wicked Lovely, by Melissa Marr: improbable plot (and that’s putting the fey underworld aside) and an ending that’s far too convenient.

Breaking Dawn, by Stephenie Meyer: see our earlier blog post (and no, I’m not getting over this anytime soon!)

Fortune’s Fool, by Mercedes Lackey: forgive me for putting anything by Mercedes Lackey on this list, because she is a fine writer, but I really think she’s just phoning it in on the Tales of the Five Hundred Kingdoms series.

Thinner, by Stephen King: I believe this is one of those books he wrote in an alcoholic haze. King is another fine writer that didn’t always write fine books. I’m glad to see he’s kicked the drunken author stereotype and continues to write good books sober.

Lonely Doll, by Dare Wright: This is an oldie, but a baddie. One of the creepiest, strangest books (and it’s for children!) that I’ve ever read.

Falcondance, by Amelia Atwater Rhodes: a teen book that has such a thick plot it’s impossible to untangle all the strands. It’s also incredibly overwrought with more angst than one human can possibly bear (or one bird/human/snake hybrid).

The Da Vinci Code, by Dan Brown: Sure, it was popular, but thin writing and predictable plotting don’t make for fine literature.

Love You Forever, by Robert N. Munsch: manipulative sentimental schlock.

-Ardis

3 responses to “Craptastic! Books that Suck

  1. I love that book! The pictures are so creepy, it has value if only for the weirdness. Read this book!

  2. Oops, I forgot to write to which book I refer. It would be The Lonely Doll by Dare Wright.

  3. Mercedes Lackey used to be an author I loved so much that I couldn’t bear to wait until I could check her new books out from the library – I’d scrape up the cash and buy them to get them faster. Unfortunately, I started giving up on her around the time of her Owl books and gave up on her completely after reading her first Alberich book (and I LIKE Alberich).

    I’ve only read a couple of the other books on the list – the ones by Meyer and Atwater Rhodes. I agree with you on both, although I could see how all the angst in Falcondance could appeal to a lot of teens. I think I was a little too old when I first read that book (that, and as a teen I was exposed to what I feel was better quality angst ).

Leave a Reply

